Agenda & Speakers

The 2018 programme will follow a similar format to previous years (see separate tabs for detail) and will comprise a mix of presentations and contributions from academics, road safety stakeholders and practitioners.

While all timings are subject to final confirmation, it is very likely registration on the day will commence at 9.00am, with the conference itself commencing at 9.45am and concluding no later than 4.00pm. All refreshments, including lunch, are included in the delegate fee.

08.30: Registration & exhibition

09.30: Welcome and introductions

Richard Storrs

Commercial Director

09.35: Welcome to the Royal Automobile Club

Liz Box

Head of Research
RAC Foundation


09.40: Session one
Chaired by Richard Storrs

Jesse Norman MP

Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Roads,Local Transport and Devolution


Nicholas Worrell

Director, National Transportation Safety Board

Presentation: On The Frontline of Safety


10.25: What’s new? The latest thinking and insights into young driver behaviour

Professor Richard Rowe & Dr Damian Poulter

Professor of Psychology, University of Sheffield & Reader in Psychology, University of Greenwich

Presentation: the behaviour of newly qualified drivers (working title)

Professor Alan Tapp & Sean Johnson

Professor of Marketing & Associate Lecturer and Research Fellow, University of the West of England

Presentation: Wheels Skills and Thrills

11.05: Refreshments & exhibition

11.35: Session two
Chaired by Steve Gooding, Director of the RAC Foundation

The new driving test – an update

Six months after the introduction of the new driving test, Lesley Young, Chief Driving Examiner at the DVSA, and Lynne Barrie, chair of the approved Driving Instructors National Joint Council (ADINJC), will update delegates as to how the new-look test is bedding in.

Lesley Young

Head of Policy and Chief Driving Examiner
Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency (DVSA)


Lynne Barrie

ADI National Joint Council (ADINJC)


12.05: The Big Debate – does pre-driver training for the under-17s make for safer young, newly qualified drivers?

The motoring journalist, author, TV presenter and campaigner Quentin Willson and Professor Frank McKenna will each deliver presentations, after which the audience will have the chance to question both presenters – with a ‘before and after’ vote giving an indication as to whether opinions have changed as a result of the debate.


12.50: Lunch & exhibition

13.50: The 2018 FirstCar Young Driver Road Safety Awards’ Presentation Ceremony

Hosted by James Evans, Founder of FirstCar & Meredydd Hughes, Executive Chairman of Road Safety Support

14.15: Session three – Practitioners in action
Chaired by Sonya Hurt, Chair, Road Safety GB

A series of short presentations by practitioners outlining current interventions / campaigns / initiatives etc they are deploying in their local areas – followed by a panel discussion.

Claire Stone

Road Safety Technician, Essex Highways

Presentation: #mysmallchange


Lyn Morris

Road Safety Officer, Carmarthenshire County Council

Presentation: Carmarthenshire’s Young Driver Programme


James Evans

Founder FirstCar

Presentation: FirstCar Academy

15.00: Viewpoint Generation Z

The conference will close with a series of short presentations by young people – and people who work with young people – giving tips and advice to help road safety professionals connect with this ‘hard to reach’ cohort.

Harry Seaton

Influencer Manager

Presentation: How to make the generation that doesn’t care, care

Christina Watson

Head of Programmes
UK Youth

Presentation: Confidence to Speak-Up!

David Gallagher

Younger Driver Ambassador, IAM RoadSmart

Presentation: Being an IAM RoadSmart ambassador and changing perceptions

Jo Collins

Senior Behaviour Analyst

Presentation: The ingenie Driver Behaviour Unit


15.55: Closing remarks

Selim Cavanagh

Chief Executive Officer


16.00: Conference concludes

For more information about the agenda please contact Nick Rawlings by email or on 01379 650112.